Our vineyard

A special Vineyard

Clos le Joncal is situated between the valleys of the river Dordogne and the river Dropt and the geology of this section of the Appellation controlée of Bergerac is very important for the vines. There is a dominance of a chalky soil on a base of clay, good for the white grapes and a clay soil with flints on the plateau for the red grapes.

Although the average height of the vineyard is quite elevated, the terrain is hilly and well-drained. The village of St.Julien D’Eymet, where you will find Clos le Joncal is situated on a sunny south-facing hillside, which is perfect for the ripening of the grapes.

All the vines of Clos le Joncal are planted on the hillsides surrounding the village of St.Julien, and the Winery lies in the centre of the village. After the harvest the grapes are quickly transferred into the wine vats “ les cuves” to begin the fermentation, limiting the risk of oxidation.

Our Vines:

Sémillon:

The oldest white grape of the appellation Bergerac, essential in all great white wines of the Southwest. At the base of sweet white wines with noble rot, it is also in dry white wines: “Clos le Joncal” and “Alpha du Joncal”. Located on the plots “Tuquet” (planting in 1988) and “Franciment” (planting in 1954), it occupies a little more than 2 ha.

 

White Sauvignon and Grey Sauvignon:

Varietal characteristic of many white wines, its very particular scent is essential to obtain an aromatic complexity. The sauvignon gris, or pink, occupies 40 acres on the plot of “Tuquet” and participates in the assembly of the vintage “Alpha du Joncal ” up to 40% on average.

 

Muscadelle:

Very old variety but declining, because of its susceptibility to diseases of the vine. Meeting other varieties of the Southwest, it provides a very pleasant fruity with notes of musk and cinnamon. 40 acres are planted on the plot of “Tuquet”, and this variety between about 20% in the batch “Alpha du Joncal”.

 

Merlot: 

The most important red grape of the appellation Bergerac, it joined more than 60% of all red wines produced in the Clos le Joncal. The plot of Fontette (1.5 ha) planted in 1984 is the basis of the vintage “Mirage du Joncal.” There are also three other plots on the farm: “L’Escourou” (60 acres planted in 1974), “Arnetou” (50 acres planted in 1997), and “La Piste” (75 acres planted in 1999).

 

Cabernet sauvignon:

Remarkable in some plots that allow it to reach full maturity, it is one of the world’s most famous wines. This variety is still assembled in the wines of Clos le Joncal and is located on the plot of “Le Caveau” (90 acres planted in 2001) and “Arnetou” (80 acres planted in 1996).

 

Cabernet franc:

Known for many years in the Southwest, it is a very productive and very aromatic grape. A plot of 50 acres planted in 1974 at “L’Escourou” in the composition of the wines, and the plot of “La Piste”, 75 acres were planted in 2000 at a density of 6700 vines/ha in order to obtain optimum quality in a few years.

Notre terroir

Un terroir singulier

Entre les vallées de la Dordogne et du Dropt, la géologie de cette partie de l’aire d’appellation contrôlée BERGERAC est à dominance d’argilo calcaire épais sur molasse argileuse bariolée pour les cépages blancs, et argilo calcaire de plateau pour les cépages rouges.

Bien que les hauteurs moyennes soient peu élevées, le paysage est très vallonné et bien drainé. Le village de Saint-Julien est situé à flanc de coteaux exposé plein sud, ce qui favorise l’ensoleillement indispensable pour obtenir une parfaite maturité des raisins.

Les vignes du Clos le Joncal sont plantées tout autour du village à l’intérieur duquel se situent les chais de vinification. Cela permet un acheminement très rapide de la vendange entre les vignes et les cuves, gage de qualité essentielle en limitant le risque d’oxydation.

Les Cépages

Sémillon :

Le plus ancien cépage blanc de l’appellation Bergerac, indispensable dans tous les grands vins blancs du Sud-Ouest. A la base des vins blancs doux grâce à la pourriture noble, il est  aussi  dans les vins blancs secs : le « Clos le Joncal » et « ALPHA du Joncal ».  Situé sur les parcelles du Tuquet (plantation en 1988) et de Franciment (plantation en 1954), il occupe un peu plus de 2 ha.

 

Sauvignon blanc et gris :

Cépage caractéristique de nombreux vins blancs secs, son parfum très particulier est indispensable pour obtenir une complexité aromatique. Le sauvignon gris, ou rose,  occupe 40 ares sur la parcelle du Tuquet, et participe à l’assemblage de la cuvée « ALPHA du Joncal » à hauteur de 40 % en moyenne.

 

Muscadelle :

Cépage très ancien mais en régression, à cause de sa sensibilité aux maladies de la vigne. Assemblée aux autres cépages du Sud-Ouest, elle apporte un fruité très agréable avec des notes de muscat et de cannelle. 40 ares sont plantées sur la parcelle du Tuquet, et ce cépage entre à 20% environ dans la cuvée « ALPHA du Joncal ».

 

Merlot: 

Le plus important cépage rouge de l’appellation Bergerac, il entre à plus de 60% dans tous les vins rouges produits au Clos le Joncal. La parcelle de Fontette (1,5 ha) plantée en 1984 est la base de la cuvée « MIRAGE du Joncal ». On trouve également 3 autres parcelles sur l’exploitation : l’Escourou (60 ares plantation 1974), Arnetou (50 ares plantation 1997), et La Piste (75 ares plantation 1999).

 

Cabernet sauvignon :

Remarquable sur certaines parcelles qui lui permettent d’arriver à parfaite maturité, il est l’un des cépages les plus connus au monde. Ce cépage est toujours en assemblage dans les vins du Clos le Joncal et on le trouve sur la parcelle du Caveau (90 ares plantation 2001) et d’Arnetou (80 ares plantation 1996).

 

Cabernet franc :

Connu depuis très longtemps dans le Sud-Ouest, c’est un cépage peu productif et très aromatique. Une parcelle de 50 ares plantée en 1974 à l’Escourou entre dans la composition des vins, et, sur la parcelle de La Piste, 75 ares ont été plantés en 2000 à une densité de 6700 pieds par hectare afin d’obtenir une qualité optimale dans quelques années.

Les parcelles de vignes

« Le Caveau » :

0,90 ha. Sol calcaire, cépage cabernet sauvignon planté en 2001. Densité 6700 pieds/ha

 

« Lescourou » :

1,10 ha. Sol argilo-calcaire10 ares merlot, 1ha Cabernet franc. Plantation 2008

 

« Arnetou » :

1,30 ha. Sol argilo-calcaire. 80 ares cabernet sauvignon, 50 ares merlot. Plantation 1995-1996. Densité 3300 pieds/ha.

 

« Fontette » :

1,50 ha. Sol calcaire et argilo calcaire. Merlot. Plantation 1984.

 

« La piste » :

0,75 ha. Sol argilo-calcaire. Merlot à 3300 pieds/ha. Plantation 1998.

 

« La piste Ouest » :

0,75 ha. Sol argilo-calcaire. Cabernet franc à 6700 pieds/ha. Plantation 2000.

 

« La piste Est » : 

0,80 ha. Sol argilo-limoneux. 40 ares Sauvignon gris et 40 ares Muscadelle, plantation 1998, 3300 pieds/ha.

 

« Le Tuquet » :

1,20 ha. Sol limono-argileux. Sémillon. Plantation 1988.

 

« Franciment » :

0,90 ha. Sol limono-argileux. Sauvignon blanc. Plantation 2004 Densité 6700 pieds/ha.